Det168’s Blog

Journal

Presentation Reflections …

Posted by Bernadette on June 15, 2010

This was a good night that I really enjoyed, however, not within my own presentation …

I was in a panic when I saw Eleanor, Susie and Mark and was most relieved when Kate, Ray, Gary and the others said that they would be unable to make it to class that evening. I have no idea why, well that is not true, but my reflections on past Blogs really do say how I was feeling that evening.

I did feel prepared and I understood all aspects of what was being asked of me in relation to my chosen research topic. However, I felt that I was fumbling in the dark although trying to remain calm, content and control of what I was trying to say … and that was before we got the laptop working and screen sorted thanks to Susie and Andrew … I do this or should done this for a living and I was terrified standing there at the lectern …

I took the design of my presentation from my tutorial with Andrew in relation as to how I was going to deliver it … cool I thought, calm and collected. Once I had begun I was initially fine. I tried to maintain contact with my audience and for some reason focussed on Eleanor who was looking terrified into my face, maybe not a good idea! Although Mark would give this huge smile every now and again and it was if he was reading my terrified mind.

I was also acutely conscious of Andrew typing furiously in the corner and was wondering what I had missed out that was of vital importance to my technological advancement concept … maybe the actual usage of technology, which may have been more in my favour! I tried to keep Andrew’s initial brief of using only four slides and the Key Note Speech presentation effect. In comparison to everyone else’s presentation I know I could have made an audio-visual delight of a presentation, but would it have said all the things I did that evening – maybe not!

I feel that I structured my presentation in accordance with my abstract and discussion with Andrew with the concept of always being mindful that my topic was about Student GUidance & Support and how I could  do this in relation to the best interests of my learners, the other staff and colleagues that I work with and, of course, the RSAMD guidelines of policy and procedure. However, do I feel that I achieved this overall concept – that would be a Chris Tarrant question I think.

I slightly digressed at points, but believe that I could have used more direct quotes, however, Andrew had suggested that I steer away from this concept and paraphrase more in relation to the Musicworks Department. I believe that my opening of What is Musicworks was enlightening to my cohort who had no idea that this department existed and what we did in relation to to targeting and reaching out to children and adults in local communities and also that we were ambassadors of the RSAMD public face who were responsible for spotting talent and raw potential in the very instance of our being or the front line so to speak … the ethos of John Wallace in our department speech at the opening of Musicworks term that we were the front line defence fo entry to the RSAMD and were able to sweep the boards with reference to gaining an insight into the raw and available talent that would shape the RSAMD Junior and Seniors for many years to come – debateable yes, realistic – no!

I had practiced the timing element to perfection I think and I had about 3 minutes to spare after Susie, Mark and Eleanor had asked me some questions in relation to Musicworks, Susie in particular was astounded about the figure of only 8% of RSAMD technology resources being utilised and Mark, who was the power point virgin … was agog in relation to the amount of information passing him by or he had shut down instantly when the slides went up at the words Technology Enhanced went on the projector …

Do I feel the content was appropriate? Yes I did, however, I felt that I could have been more direct in relation to keeping my thought process more concise, but the overall delivery, I was extremely happy with. I think I did what I set out to do, digressions aside, but could I have expanded in certain areas. Yes that is a real possibility in relation to what was happening around the world in relation to the use of digital technology in a musical field. Furthermore, I should have perhaps spent more time on this aspect in relation to re-defining what Web 2.0 technologies were, how I could use them within Musicworks, what they or I would hope to achieve and what revolutionary aspect could they contain for me, Musicworks and the RSAMD in general …

How could I have overcome the above? More time I think, but the 30 minutes seemed like a life time when I was speaking, but in reality in my head there was so much more that I could have, should have and would have said had I spoken faster, had more slides, and in general had rabbitted on until the stop watch and clock were just about clang in an avalanche of thoughts which were engulfing me and questions that I had never thought of were suddenly crowding out my mind which was already in the stage of difficulty and information overload … what to do in future …run a mile, go for a swim, dance the night away and hope that things can only get better and that my fear and shyness of speaking actually melt into the background like a glacier in the sun …

My cohorts are the best and I thought that last year through a very difficult period, but they have embraced me with open arms and I would like very much to stay with them for the remainder, but that remains to be seen yet and it is with great sadness that I sign off for now not knowing whether or not I will ever see them again … well class this week permitting, but on a personal note … thank you very much for their support and encouragement and willing me through some difficulties Thursday evenings. Thank You Joyce, Gary, Susie, Kate, Robert, Bob, Mark & Ray!! ….and to Andrew, you truly are an inspiration!!!, a wonderful man and a god send of a friend whom I feel privileged to have known … and hopefully will continue to know wherever I am in this world!!!

Leave a comment