Det168’s Blog

Journal

Tuesday 24th February 2009 – Into the Lion’s Den

Posted by Bernadette on March 16, 2009

My meeting with Chris Gray today with regard to the CPD plan from the last assignment.

Brookfield’s Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher is once again recalled in my reflection process. Chapter 1, page fifteen, to be precise…..Deep Space Nine:The Answer Must  Be Out There Somewhere

We think that if we just look hard enough, we will find the manual, workshop theory or person that will tell us exactly what we need to do. Occasionally, this might happen. But more often than not, any ideas or suggestions we pick up will have to be sculpted to fit the local conditions in which we work

This fits with my meeting like a glove. Th meeting was productive, but I feel that I gave away too many of my ideas which would have been beneficial for me to keep up my sleeve without sharing. However, I feel that I made a good impact on my boss and that the ideas were warmly received, just how warmly..well time will tell.

I am to be put through the RSAMD Career Review Process, but technically I don’t have to do that as I work less that the required amount of hours, but I feel it would be beneficial for me to do. I will download and complete the necessary documentation before my next meeting with Chris.

Lots of funding, financial, IT, implications, etc reared there ugly head as to what is meant to be the idea of the New One Academy. I feel there is more red tape to follow this one and with Sharon’s imminent departure and interviews to be held very soon, it will be a trying time for all in the Musicworks over, a new beginning has begun in relation to the already in place newly restructured academy.

I have been engrossed in the feasibility study in relation to the Scottish music industry which I found online and the RSAMD has a huge part to play, but with the majority of its graduate students actually working in fast food outlets, not mentioning them, Chris, this does not bode well for the RSAMD.

I am also swatting up on RSAMD policies and procedures and have come to the conclusion that all good things must come to an end……..Career Review to follow

Leave a comment